WELCOME TO THE DUKES HEAD, KING'S LYNN
The Dukes Head Hotel stands on what was the Gryffen Inn until 1683 when it was demolished and replaced with the current building, by the architect Henry Bell. Once Mayor of King's Lynn, Henry Bell also built the historic Custom House.
Completed in 1689, all that remains today of the Gryffen Inn is the main staircase at the front of the hotel.
The bank 'Massey & Co' was founded in what is now the Gryffens Restaurant and was there as an independent bank operated until 1930.
The hotel has played host to major political icons and Royalty over the years, such as Sir Robert Walpole - the first tenant of 10 Downing Street - and Princess Victoria, who stayed at the hotel on the 22nd September, 1835.
The Hotel is one of Norfolk's most iconic and longstanding hotels, overlooking an historic market square in the pretty, maritime town of King's Lynn.
Right in the heart of the old town, it is a superb destination for short breaks, weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions.
Situated in the vibrant market square, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of Norfolk's beautiful countryside and coast.
A brief 10 minute walk from the town’s railway station, the hotel is a short drive from the impressive Sandringham Estate and the sandy beaches of Heacham and Hunstanton.